Special Meeting of City Council 6:00pm, Tuesday, December 3, 2019 Council Chambers 1207 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

- **Present**: Mayor Carroll, Council members Bell, Buckhannon, Rice, Kinghorn, Moye, Smith, and Ward
- Absent: Council Member Ferencz

Staff Present: Administrator Fragoso, Asst. City Administrator Hanna, Asst. City

Attorney Thackett

2. Consideration of nominations to Standing Committees for 2020

Mayor Carroll nominated Council members Buckhannon, Bell, and Smith to the Public Safety Committee.

Council Member Bell declined the nomination and nominated Council members Buckhannon, Ward, and Pounds to the Public Safety Committee

Mayor Carroll nominated Council Members Buckhannon, Bell, and Popson to the Public Works Committee.

Council Member Bell declined the nomination and nominated Council members Pounds, Smith, and Popson to the Public Works Committee.

Council Member Buckhannon nominated Council Member Ward to the Public Works Committee.

Mayor Carroll nominated Council members Moye, Smith, and Popson to the Recreation Committee.

Mayor Carroll nominated Council members Moye, Pounds, and Streetman to the Personnel Committee.

Council Member Bell nominated Council members Moye, Streetman, and Ward to the Personnel Committee.

Mayor Carroll nominated Council members Ward, Pounds, and Streetman to the Real Property Committee.

Council Member Bell nominated himself, and Council members Buckhannon and Streetman to the Real Property Committee.

Council member Ward nominated Kevin Popson.

There being no further nominations, Council Member Rice made a motion to close the nominations, and Council Member Buckhannon seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Consideration of nominations to Boards and Commissions

Mayor Carroll nominated Malcolm Burgis, Sally Mulig, David Nelson, and Rusty Williamson to the Accommodations Tax Advisory Board.

Mayor Carroll nominated Elizabeth Campsen and Carolyn Holscher to the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Mayor Carroll nominated Ron Denton and Lisa Safford to the Planning Commission.

There being no further nominations, Mayor Carroll made a motion to close the nominations, and Council Member Bell seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Consideration of the nominations of City Judges, City Attorney and Assistant City Attorney

Mayor Carroll nominated Michael Molony at the City Judge, Julia Copeland as the City Attorney, and Claude Thackett as the Assistant City Attorney.

There being no further nominations, Council Member Moye made a motion to close the nominations, and Council Member Rice seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Consideration of nominations to the CARTA Board of Directors

Mayor Carroll nominated Council Member Ward to the CARTA Board of Directors.

There being no further nominations, Council Member Moye made a motion to close the nominations, and Council Member Buckhannon seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

6. **Consideration of nominations to the Charleston Visitors Bureau**

Mayor Carroll nominated Council Member Smith to the Charleston Visitors Bureau.

There being no further nominations, Council Member Rice made a motion to close the nominations, and Council Member Buckhannon seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

7. Consideration of nominations to the Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester Council of Governments

Mayor Carroll nominated himself to the Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester Council of Governments.

Council Member Ward nominated Council Member Pounds to the Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester Council of Governments.

There being no further nominations, Council Member Rice made a motion to close the nominations, and Council Member Moye seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

8. Consideration of the terms of appointments to the vacancies to the Isle of Palms Water & Sewer Commission

Council Member Moye stated the reported the length the recent vacancies to the Isle of Palms Water & Sewer Commission was incorrect. Personnel Committee members thought both vacancies were for four years, but one was for two years and one for four years. Administrator Fragoso stated one term expires on 12/31/2021 and the other expires 12/31/2023. After drawing a name at random, it was determined that Bob Hooper's term will expire on 12/31/2021, and Jan Anderson's term expires on 12/31/2023.

MOTION: Council Member Moye made a motion to appoint Jan Anderson to the 4year term vacancy and Bob Hooper to the 2-year term vacancy on the Water and Sewer Commission. Council Member Rice seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

9. Consideration of First Reading of Ordinance 2019-19 – AN ORDINANCE AMENDING TITLE 6, HEALTH AND SANITATION, CHAPTER 4, SMOKING IN THE WORKPLACE. An ordinance to prohibit smoking on the beach.

MOTION: Council Member Smith made a motion to approve Ordinance 2019-19 on First Reading, and Council Member Rice seconded the motion. A vote was taken as follows:

Ayes: Rice, Moye, Kinghorn, Buckhannon, Smith, Carroll Nays: Buckhannon, Ward

Ordinance 2019-19 passed First Reading.

Council Member Kinghorn made a point of order asking the City Clerk to verbally review the outcome of the vote by identifying which Council members voted in favor of the ordinance and which voted against it.

10. Consideration of a special meeting on December 10th, 2019 at 5:30pm to consider Second Reading of Ordinance 2019-19.

MOTION: Council Member Rice made a motion to approve, and Council Member Moye seconded the motion. A vote was taken as follows:

Ayes: Rice, Moye, Kinghorn, Buckhannon, Smith, Carroll Nays: Buckhannon, Ward

The motion passed.

11. Executive Session

Council Member Bell made a motion to move into Executive Session to discuss negotiations incident to proposed contractual arrangements related to the marina restaurant lease. Council

Member Buckhannon seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. City Council moved into Executive Session at approximately 6:17pm.

City Council returned from Executive Session, and Mayor Carroll reported no decisions were made, and no votes were taken. The meeting was adjourned at 7:20pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Nicole DeNeane City Clerk