

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING 5:00pm, Tuesday, December 5, 2023 1207 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC and broadcasted live on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/cityofisleofpalms

MINUTES

1. Call to order

Present: Council members Hahn, Ward, Anderson, Bogosian, Streetman, Popson, Miars, Pierce, and Mayor Pounds

Staff Present: Administrator Fragoso, Director Kerr

2. Special Presentations

A. Recognition of outgoing councilmembers Kevin Popson and Rusty Streetman

Mayor Pounds thanked and recognized Council Member Popson and Council Member Streetman for their years of service to the City. Both Council members thanked the community for allowing them to serve and the staff for all their hard work.

B. Recognition of Travis Stafford, Fire Marshall, ahead of his retirement

Chief Oliverius thanked Fire Marshall Stafford for being a "hard working, dedicated public servant" and spoke of his efforts at community risk reduction and other initiatives throughout his career with the Isle of Palms.

C. FY23 Audit Presentation

Chris Kerr of Veris CPA, said the City has received an unmodified or clear opinion on the FY23 audit. He noted that Treasurer Hamilton was very organized and helpful. He said there were no difficulties in the audit, no material journal entries were necessary, and there were no internal control or compliance findings. Mr. Veris also gave an overview of the Management's Discussion and Analysis. The audit can be found on the City's website.

3. Consideration of nominations for Standing Committees for 2024

Mayor Pounds nominated:

-Council Member Bogosian and Council members-elect Campsen and Carroll to the Administration Committee

-Council members Anderson, Bogosian, and Ward to the Public Safety Committee

-Council members Hahn, Miars, and Pierce to the Public Services & Facilities Committee

Council Member Ward nominated Council members Hahn and Ward and Council-member elect Carroll to the Administration Committee.

Council Member Hahn nominated Council Member Bogosian to the Public Services & Facilities Committee and Council Member-elect Campsen to the Public Safety Committee.

There were no other nominations.

4. Consideration of nominations for Boards and Commissions

Mayor Pounds nominated:

-Ray Burns, Rebecca Kovalich, Park Williams, and Mike Boykin to the ATAX Committee -Jeffrey Rubin, Suzanne Nagelski, Ron Denton, and Richard Steinert to the Planning Commission -Laura Lovins, Dane Buckout, Todd Murphy, and Lucia Spiotta to the Environmental Advis

-Laura Lovins, Dane Buckout, Todd Murphy, and Lucia Spiotta to the Environmental Advisory Committee

-Ellen Gower, Susan Wheeler, and Robert Miller to the Board of Zoning Appeals

There were no other nominations.

5. Consideration of nominations for City Judges, City Attorney, and City Prosecutor

Mayor Pounds nominated:

-Michael Molony for City Judge -Christopher Skipper for Associate Judge -MacMcQuillin of Haynsworth, Sinkler, Boyd, PA for City Attorney -Culver Kidd for City Prosecutor

There were no other nominations.

6. Consideration of nominations for CARTA Board of Directors

Mayor Pounds nominated Council Member Ward to the CARTA Board of Directors.

There were no other nominations.

7. Consideration of nominations to the Charleston Visitors Bureau

Mayor Pounds nominated himself to the Charleston Visitors Bureau.

There were no other nominations.

8. Consideration of nominations to the Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester Council of Governments

Mayor Pounds nominated Council Member Anderson to the Charleston, Berkeley Dorchester Council of Governments.

There were no other nominations.

9. Consideration of nominations for liaison for the Environmental Advisory Committee

Mayor Pounds nominated Council Member Miars as the liaison for the Environmental Advisory Committee.

There were no other nominations.

Council Member Miars presented the list of nominations to the Mayor. There were no objections to the list of nominations.

10. Adjournment

Council Member Streetman made a motion to adjourn. Council Member Popson seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 5:36pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Nicole DeNeane City Clerk