## CITY OF ISLE OF PALMS SPECIAL MEETING OF CITY COUNCIL

6:30 p.m., Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Following the 6:00 p.m. swearing-in ceremony for elected officials, the Isle of Palms City Council held a Special Meeting in Council Chambers of City Hall, 1207 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, South Carolina. Present were Councilmembers Bergwerf, Bettelli, Buckhannon, Carroll, Ferencz, Harrington, Loftus and Ward, Mayor Cronin, City Administrator Tucker, City Attorney Halversen, Assistant to the Administrator Dziuban and City Clerk Copeland.

Mayor Cronin called the meeting to order and acknowledged that the press and public had been duly notified of the meeting in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.

Appointment of Members to City Boards, Commissions and Committees

MOTION: Mayor Cronin moved to affirm the following appointments: ATAX Committee – appoint Carol Rice and Susan Haynie and to re-appoint Malcolm Burgis and Jim Covington; Board of Zoning Appeals – appoint Carolyn Holscher and Jay Leigh; Code Board of Appeals – re-appoint Ann Sherrill and Alan Schoultz; and Planning Commission – appoint Lisa Safford and to re-appoint Ron Denton and Noel Scott Councilmember Bettelli seconded and the motion PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Appointment of City Attorney and Assistant City Attorney

MOTION: Mayor Cronin moved to affirm the appointment of Stirling Halversen as the City Attorney and Clay McCullough as Assistant City Attorney; Councilmember Buckhannon seconded and the motion PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Re-appointment of Councilmember Bettelli to the CARTA Board

MOTION: Mayor Cronin moved to affirm the appointment of Marty Bettelli to the CARTA Board; Councilmember Bergwerf seconded and the motion PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

The Mayor noted that a listing of the City's 2013 accomplishments are available for members of the audience on the table at the back of the room and encouraged residents to read about the successes the City had over the past year.

MOTION: Councilmember Buckhannon moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:33 p.m.; Councilmember Bergwerf seconded and the motion PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Respectfully submitted:

Marie Copeland City Clerk