Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee

The Accommodations Tax Committee is an advisory committee that advises City Council on the expenditure of local accommodations tax funds for the purpose of promoting tourism, the arts and cultural affairs in the community.

The advisory committee consists of seven (7) members, with a majority being selected from the hospitality industry of the City of Isle of Palms. At least two (2) of the members must be from the lodging industry and one (1) member shall represent the cultural organizations. Appointed members shall serve terms of three (3) years. Residents interested in serving on this Committee may submit an online application.  

The Application for funding (revised February, 2021) should be submitted to City Hall as far in advance of the next meeting as possible. Applicants should read the Letter of Introduction. Applications may be submit electronically to Desiree Fragoso ( or in hard copy to 1207 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, South Carolina, 29451.


  • Chas Akers (At-large) - Term Expires 12/31/2022
  • Barb Bergwerf (Arts & Culture) - Term Expires 12/31/2022
  • Ray Burns (Lodging) - Chair Term Expires 12/31/2023
  • Douglas Truslow (At-Large) - Term Expires 12/31/2023
  • Rebecca Kovalich (Lodging)- Term Expires 12/31/2023
  • Gloria Clarke (Hospitality)- Term Expires 12/31/2022
  • Chrissy Lorenz (Hospitality)- Term Expires 12/31/2022